top of page

Using the Chakras as a Guide

The Chakras remind me of the Dosha’s in a lot of ways. They are basically a compact system to help with our physical, emotional, social and spiritual wellbeing without needed to become a psychologist, doctor, social worker and religious guide. Each of those roles has its place in our lives of course, but we can work with the Chakras to help ourselves tap into our own wisdom before seeking out external guidance.

Each Chakra has its own color, mudra (hand positioning), scent, element, sound and even developmental stage. I am going to do my best to break them down into their simplest and most applicable forms.

Root Chakra

This is located at the base of our spine, and being the closest to the ground is governed by earth element. Knowing this we can notice that being rooted, or grounded emotionally and socially are what this chakra helps us do. It is physically related to our legs and feet, so any activity in those areas will help stimulate it. It is the color red! (the colors of the chakras are the colors of the rainbow in order :) )

Sacral Chakra

This is located in our pelvis, it is where a lot of action and transition happen. This chakra is governed by water element. This chakra is our creative and sexual center. If we think about it, water & the pelvis make a lot of sense for that. Circular motions especially activities like hula hooping help stimulate this energy center. When it is in balance transitions don’t feel so difficult. It is the color orange.

Solar Plexus

This sits right below our ribs, in the abdomen. Our digestion and core support are located here. In ayurveda our digestion is always thought of like an oven with fire the element of transformation. It is no surprise that fire is the element that governs this chakra! When we think of exercising to “feel the burn” a lot of the times we are talking about core work. Emotionally this center is also our ego and confidence. If you think about standing bright and tall you might lengthen your torso, creating plenty of space for your solar plexus to shine. It is the color yellow.

Heart Chakra - This is an easy one located in the chest! Our heart is the seed of our compassion, empathy and generosity. We have 2 heart chakras, one in the front and back. They each relate to how well we are able to give and receive love. Our lungs also connect to this energy center, each breath an example of us receiving and releasing. This Chakra is governed by air element. It is the colors green & pink.

Throat Chakra

Another no brainer ;) Located in the throat. If we think about what is needed to make sound and speak (actions in the throat) we will notice that our body requires space to vibrate the sounds and send them out. This Chakra is governed by the element space (or ether) Socially this Chakra helps us know when to speak up or listen. It is all about communication! This Chakra is the color blue

Third Eye - This Chakra is located between the eyebrows. It is our center for intuition. No elements for this one because it is a transitional space between ourself and our higher self. It does relate to our brain as an organ. Our gut responses and ability to “feel out” a space, relationship or change all stem from a healthy third eye Chakra. Meditation is an incredible tool to stimulate this energy center. It is the color purple.

Crown Chakra

This Chakra sits at the top of our head and is our place of connection to the universe. It provides us with insight, and connection to the “big picture”. It is a bright white light. This is our divine self!

I hope this was helpful! Feel free to ask me any questions that may have come up in reading this.

Once you have a grasp of the Chakras a lot of connections between physical, emotional and even relational issues start to come to light. As an ayurvedic counselor I often use the chakra system as a way to locate the root of someone’s imbalance because it is so comprehensive!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page